Aus Mastakatz
Wechseln zu: Navigation, Suche

Canary Islands, Span. Islas Canarias, number of seven islands (1990 pop music. 1,589,403), 2,808 sq mi (7,273 sq kilometer), autonomous region of Spain, within the Atlantic Ocean off Western Sahara. They constitute two provinces of Spain. Santa Cruz de Tenerife (1990 pop. 770,627), 1,239 sq mi (3,209 sq kilometer), includes Tenerife, Palma, Gomera, and Hierro. Las Palmas (1990 pop. 818,776), 1,569 sq mi (4,064 sq km), includes Grand Canary, Lanzarote, and Fuerteventura. Fuerteventura is 67 mi (108 km) from the African shore. The islands, of volcanic beginning, are rugged Mt. Teide (12,162 ft/3,707 m) may be the highest point in Spain.

Wine was the export that is main of Canaries before the grape blight of 1853 its place ended up being taken by cochineal until aniline dyes came into general use. Today the leading exports are bananas, sugarcane, tomatoes, potatoes, and tobacco, that are grown where irrigation can be done. There was fishing regarding the available seas, plus the Canaries, with their subtropical environment and fine beaches, have grown to be a tourist center that is major. An oil refinery as well as other industries that are large-scale located at Santa Cruz de Tenerife.
To know about Pueblo Marinero and Parque Cristobal 3 Sterne Hotel Resort Teneriffa, please go to all of our site Only adults hotels in Canary Islands.
Ultimately, the road to overcome the existing overall economy in Europe’s ultra-peripheral “Fortunate Islands” resembles compared to Spain as a whole, as well as a number of the European project’s weakest nations: to take part in the profound change of this current fatigued and unsustainable financial model. It is a endeavour that is rather titanic however, in the midst of a currency crisis that is pulling at the seams associated with eurozone’s divergent economies.

The Canary Islands, though politically a part of Spain, are only 67 kilometers from the shore of Morocco in the mainland that is african. An archipelago composed of seven major islands, one island that is minor and several little islets, each of volcanic beginning, they participate in the Macaronesia ecoregion, which also contains the islands of Azores, Madeira, and Cape Verde.

The autonomous community associated with the Canary Islands ended up being founded by the Statute of Autonomy of August 10, 1982. The status of money city is shared by the two metropolitan areas of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria and Santa Cruz de Tenerife.